2D and 3D imagery by a fractal fanatic

Best abstract yet!

abstract-fractal

I was excited about this! It began with a very complex fractal I wasn’t sure what to do with…this is just a very tiny portion of it that I zoomed in on, wondering whether I could tweak it and do anything with it. Eventually it occurred to me to rotate this, and I went through countless gradients until this basic 4-color gradient seemed to fit. Then another gentle filtering to enhance the shapes and the density…and here’s the result! I love how it looks like paint…and some areas even resemble water… sweet!

Also it’s one of those I chose to render at a fairly big resolution, 8000 x 8000 (my computer doesn’t always cooperate on that size!) and I passed up anti-aliasing since it looked like one of those images that would “clean up” fine without it. I was right… 😀 Antialiasing on this would have taken about 16 hours anyway! Without it, it took a mere 4 1/2 hours….blinding speed, i know….LOL

Leave a Reply

