2D and 3D imagery by a fractal fanatic

Positional Lighting Test – My First!

This was quite an accomplishment for me, my first successful use of Positional Lighting which is really not that difficult after all 😉 I don’t know how one would go about adding Global Lighting in after the Pos Lighting, but really if you just add a touch of fog and maybe adjust the Ambient sliders or whatever, I don’t see a genuine need for global light on top of the rest…

Oh, and this does not have Hard Shadows enabled, I tried that but it made the image look way too dark…

I was surprised that this looked clean even after the special lighting was turned on. And the shapes came from a throw-away parameter I made ages ago when my stuff was still looking like crap…LOL. Word to the Wise: never throw away params that show any signs of possibilities…

pos-light-test-mandelbulb3d

4 responses

  1. Oh this is is niiice! Is the coloured lighting seperate from the ambient lighting? And yes, I agree with you about the params – never throw them away. In fact I wrote all mine down when I used Fractal Domains – they sure came in handy when I wanted to try something new! Oh I feel a fractal phase coming on – I wanna DO this! 😀

    March 4, 2014 at 6:36 pm

    • Thank you and Yes, Positional Lighting is different from ambient and even different from Global Lighting… I shied away from Positional for a long time until I thought, since I was now brave enough to atttempt “expert” stuff like volumetrics (very difficult, be warned), I should be able to tackle Positional now…it is kind of fun once you get the general idea of how it works. Do it, Pixie….doooooo iiiiiiiitttt

      March 5, 2014 at 3:43 am

      • Ugh…I had a look at MB3D and I was like….ohhhh nooo. I might try Incendia, ChaosPro or something simple for now until I get the hang of it all! 😀

        March 5, 2014 at 5:46 pm

      • I hated Incendia, frankly…I can put things together with it but the render cycle is crazy…you never know when it’s finished! which to me is downright silly, at least in M3d it tells you how much time is required, even tho’ it’s realtime and the program can slow down or speed up a little along the way… That way you can sorta plan your day around it, know when to expect it to finish up…

        March 5, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Leave a Reply

