2D and 3D imagery by a fractal fanatic

Surreal Cut Spheres – or – Oops, My 3D Knife Slipped

While it is true that I often like to zero in with a very tiny FOV, occasionally I also like to pull way out just to see what happens. If you pull back far enough there can be a pattern, it might be nice or it could be ugly!

This time I came up with a lot of cool-looking sphere-like shapes, but I didn’t know they were “cut” like this…sliced off in a way that really is not so attractive. I suppose if I had ‘walked’ out they would have closed up, but then we couldn’t see what is inside them… Anyway I know it happens sometimes with us intermediate MB’ers. I like the depth in this image, tried to change that yellow color on the cut ends to something else…didn’t find the solution but even so, I like the image…

surreal-cut-spheres-mandelbulb3d

2 responses

  1. I really like the “cut” edges. Its like these are made from torn coloured paper. Its very wabi-sabi, and the colours are so pretty!

    March 4, 2014 at 8:26 am

    • Oh thank you! The more I dabble in M3D the more weird and interesting stuff happens…I love it when these programs surprise me that way… Only last evening I achieved my first decent effort with Positional Lighting, it really isn’t that hard to do once you know a few basics…which I picked up on some Youtube videos. Thank heaven I finally got away from rural dial-up (yes, I do live out in the back of beyond, here) and even though my DSL isn’t the fastest on the planet, it allows me to watch training videos and stuff…

      March 4, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Leave a Reply

