2D and 3D imagery by a fractal fanatic

Another 6th Mandel Newton Variation

Here I am back in the land of 2D fractals! Much as I adore 3D crafting, it is very time consuming, and free time is in short supply for me these days, argh! As I have said before, 2D art is still art…. I have even been toying with the idea of getting back into sketching by hand, something I did many years ago and have gotten rusty at since it has been so long… 😳 It wouldn’t hurt me to sketch on days when there just isn’t an opportunity to create anything else. Something to satisfy the Muses and shut them up…

The point is, whatever qualifies as Art is fine with me, and as long as it is satisfying and looks good, the amount (large or small) of effort required to produce it should not be important…

6th-mandel-newton-variation-fractal

5 responses

  1. Amen to all you have said about what constitutes art. And this 2D fractal looks so cool – I love the colours. The red and gold reminds me of either Christmas, or more of a Chinese flower, really. 😀

    March 16, 2014 at 9:36 am

    • Thank you! A lot of my fractal images wind up using hot colors, it seems to me that red, orange and/or gold are what really make the shapes stand out. I have tried black and white or monotone a few times but it is harder to emphasize the shapes and tones that way, and give them that “almost 3D” illusion of depth which is what’s important in fractal work. When I started out, all my images looked flat and rather boring until I got a clue about two years later!!

      March 16, 2014 at 8:41 pm

      • I just started playing around with a program called Fraqtive. Its free, and it makes 2D fractals. Not as good as “my” Fractal Domains on the Mac (ahem), but its still quite pretty when zooming in. A lot of leeway with params and colours too. It does 3D a little bit, but is very blocky and takes forever to render, so I don’t bother. And yes, I agree with the black & white – v – colouring. Its the colour that gives the shading and illusion of 3D-ness. I can see my blog becoming a whole hot mess of various *stuff* if I’m not careful, lol. Yaaay, fun! 😀

        March 17, 2014 at 10:21 am

      • P.S. Just wanted to say that I have found Sterling2 as well……lol 😀

        March 17, 2014 at 8:32 pm

      • Enjoying your comments, I just got in and it’s the school Spring Break over here so work was a ZOOOOO (I work at a restaurant, hah) and I’m a bit knackered at the mo’ …I’ll be around this evening for awhile though. Yep, Sterling2 is a nice program even if not quite up to my favorite, Fractal Explorer… Tier-Azon is another one but I don’t think it is free anymore. Though why anyone would want to pay for it I don’t know, it’s very basic and most people are wild to get into Ultra Fractal these days b/c it has 3D capabilities… I have UF (paid version) but it has me lost mostly, maybe I’m just over-analyzing the rather glamourous features… There is a pattern and a logic to working with UF, I know that, but I haven’t gotten a grip on it yet…I’m just so accustomed to whipping out something like Fractal Explorer, pushing the formulas and filters around or changing old params I’ve had lying around for yonks, and pretty soon a nice image comes up and I’m setting up for rendering, which might take 10 minutes or 10 hours…I don’t mind, since these 2D programs are not terribly hard on the CPU… I will have a look at Fraqtive… I was tempted to splurge and purchase Fractal Extreme but I’ve already “blown the wad” on UF, so…. Really if you look at something like–well, here is a link to the page of a buddy at deviantART where he displays gorgeous images made with Fractal Extreme (by Dinkydau)–

        http://fractalmonster.deviantart.com/

        but if you know your fractals and how they behave, sooner or later you just might turn up something similar to what Fractal Extreme can do….only you don’t necessarily have to pay for it… On the left side of the page, Fractal Monster shows his works made with Ultra Fractal…

        March 18, 2014 at 12:43 am

Leave a Reply

