2D and 3D imagery by a fractal fanatic

Reimann – SierpHilbert Sphere

Simple to set this one up, but a bear to get the lighting just right! Nice practice session with Positional Lights, though… 🙂 I’m not good with that but it’s getting somewhat easier… Not nearly so difficult as Volumetrics! I have some understanding of Volumetrics but I can drive myself mad trying to get it to work… Pos Lighting is tricky but not so bad once you get the general hang of it…

reimann-sierphilbert-sphere-mandelbulb-3d

7 responses

  1. Awesome! Its like the brain of a flower – if they had brains 😀 I also like the guidance points……its as if you knew I downloaded M3D today and went “whoaaaa…..!” 😉

    March 19, 2014 at 5:51 pm

    • I’m glad you did! I thought you had already downloaded it before when it put you off a bit, seeing as it isn’t the easiest program to learn… But now that you are brave enough to finally download it and dabble in it, I will tell you that while the learning curve is steep, it isn’t impossible… Took me 3 years of playing with it off and on (more off than on, many times I got thoroughly disgusted with myself for feeling such a dim bulb!) but now I feel I’m making actual progress 😉 If you have questions that you can toss in my direction, I will help if I can, or direct you to resources where you can get help from Pros out there… Look around on deviantART, even Note some people, most of them are friendly and willing to give advice…I can even tip you on who’s most helpful…

      March 19, 2014 at 6:46 pm

      • Well thanks – I really appreciate any help I can get. I downloaded a few programs and dabbled with them to see if I could get something real quick to keep me going. Mostly I got rid of the complicated ones, but I was so inspired by your stuff I thought I really must put on my Big Girl Pants and simply get to it. I put up a couple of Sterling2 fractals to share, which are fine but I will play around with M3D tonight and see what happens! :D. I also found YT videos to watch, so hopefully I won’t be bugging you TOO much! 😀

        March 19, 2014 at 7:45 pm

      • I’m glad that I have inspired you! You have inspired me as well to get back to hand drawing… Life is really beating me around without mercy these days, not much of a chance to focus. Got to put on my own Big Girl Pants and deal with the unpleasant stuff before I can settle down to having fun in here again. I really wish I had not paid for Ultra Fractal, but I was tempted b/c of the layers and the full size options and things you don’t get in the free version. Not sure when I’ll really master that one. I also have Bryce Pro. The free version of Bryce still resides on my XP computer but doesn’t run well on it because of less memory and power. I thought I could just move it over to the laptop but the registration key no longer exists, and you have to have that to move Bryce (or for that matter, Ultra Fractal) anywhere new. The free version doesn’t exist anymore either, so a simple online download to the laptop was out of the question. Bryce Pro isn’t expensive, about 20 dollars, but still it’s money I shouldn’t have parted with for something I could live without. But hey, if it took me 3 years to get to “intermediate” stage in M3D and fairly expert with Fractal Explorer as well, I guess I can wait another 3 years to get good with Ultra Fractal and Bryce… They have YT vids aplenty but there is so much information in the vids it makes my brain hurt… I would need to take night classes with hands-on training to learn these without a struggle 😕

        March 20, 2014 at 5:41 am

    • And thanks very much for the kind remarks 😀 At first I did think this sphere resembled something with bunches of grapes, sheaves of wheat, stuff like the ancient Greeks might use to worship Demeter! But after the fancy lighting was applied, it bore less resemblance to plants…

      March 19, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Leave a Reply

