2D and 3D imagery by a fractal fanatic

Some More Kaleidoscope Fun

(3 images.)

These are addictive!…as well as quick and easy to make (nice for those of us whose free time is spotty at best). Paint Shop Pro 7 (yes, I am a die-hard, hanging onto my old stuff so I don’t have to keep spending money!) does a great job of turning almost anything into a kaleidoscope. I must say that it even beats Gimp, or any of those kaleidoscope-makers on the net where you insert your own image.

The first of these has too much white, a bit hard on the eyes, but looks best viewed at full size. It was a JPG at first and I forgot that, so after the manips it is slightly “soft”…

The 2nd and 3rd ones were made originally with Gimp, but I wanted to do more….so I whipped out the Jasc magic, did some manipulating, and now they do look better. I am not keen on all those signatures multiplied in the 2nd one, I promise you I am not narcissistic, LOL. The last looks like it has shells and rocks in the middle…cool!

And from what I understand, kaleidoscopes are NOT fractals…maybe I should change the byline of this blog…hhmm.

kaleidoscope-fun

kaleidoscope

kaleidoscope

3 responses

  1. Like, Like, Like!!! Y’know…these look so much like Mandala’s…..but they are oh so very pretty! Stained glass…for the last one. Totally see that on a church window!

    April 16, 2014 at 6:08 pm

    • Thanks and Me too! Part of the fun in these is looking and letting the imagination go, think about what they look like or remind you of. I categorized these as “true” Kaleidoscopes since they were made with my own kaleidoscope maker…the others just happened by themselves which IMO means they are not genuine Kaleidoscopes (and that begins to sound downright scientific, lol)… I need to catch up at deviantART, where I do have a link that is all Mandalas; these will definitely be going there. Up until a few months ago I didn’t even know what the word Mandala meant!

      April 16, 2014 at 6:26 pm

      • I’m hiding at the possible scientific explanation regarding Kaleidoscope – vs – *proper* Kaleidoscope. But yes, I shall need to pop over to DA 😀

        April 16, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Leave a Reply

